Johnny Clarke - Originally Mr. Clarke LP

SKU: CT0108
Vorige Item 180 of 418 Volgende
€ 25,50

Originally Mr. Clarke was first released in 1980 on Brad Osborne's Bronx-based Clocktower label, and it is Osborn's involvement that gives this unsung little gem its unique sound. The basic instrumental and vocal tracks were recorded in Jamaica, most likely under the guidance of producer Bunny Lee (although singer Johnny Clarke himself may have supervised the sessions) and featured veteran studio pros like Glen Adams, Sly & Robbie, Tommy McCook, Earl "Chinna" Smith and Winston Wright (more or less the Aggrovators). The raw tracks were then taken to New York, where Osborn overdubbed flute, additional vocals and percussion and oversaw the final mixes. The end result was a wonderfully cohesive sequence that featured light, airy and yet active arrangements, full of well-placed and effective horn charts, all of which perfectly framed Clarke's sweet, soulful and elegantly unhurried vocals, making Originally Mr. Clarke that rarest of reggae artifacts -- an album that sounds like it was meant to be an album and not just a collection of singles.
Format & package: LP, low resolution on frontside of the jacket (clocktower style), mint green vinyl
Record Label: Clocktower
Year of release: unknown (reissued from 1980)
A1 Bad Day's Are Going (Disco Cut)
A2 Jah Jah We Are Waiting
A3 Every Knee Shall Bow
A4 Fittest Of The Fittest
A5 Our Father In Zion
B1 Can't Keep A Good Man Down
B2 Moving On To Zion
B3 It's A Disgrace
B4 It A Go Rough
B5 Blood Dunza (Different Style)

Specification Description
Weight 0,25 Kg
© 2014 - 2022 AGGROSHOP.COM | sitemap | rss | ecommerce software - powered by MyOnlineStore