The Uniques ‎- Absolutely The... Uniques LP

Vorige Item 127 of 432 Volgende
€ 21,90

Liner notes by Laurence Cane-Honeysett.
Long before the fusion of dancehall and reggae, there was a time when vocal trios dominated Jamaica's music scene. From the early '60s, three-part harmony ensembles peppered the charts with driving ska hits. By the time the lilting rhythms of rocksteady emerged in late 1966, an outfit made some of the most popular and enduring music ever issued on the island. They were, of course, The Uniques.
The Uniques' classic line-up of Slim Smith, Lloyd Charmers and Jimmy Riley would record a series of superior sides with legendary producer Bunny Lee, most notably The Impressions' "Gypsy Woman," the soulful original "Speak No Evil" and the haunting "My Conversation" (which may be one of the most "versioned" tracks of all time). Charmers produced the cover of Buffalo Springfield's 1967 hit "For What It's Worth" (aka "Watch This Sound"), which was originally released on the group's own Tramp label.
As 1968 drew to a close, these recordings (along with the remainder of their best-known songs to date) were compiled for The Uniques' debut album, Absolutely The Uniques, which unusual for the time was released as a full-price collection by Trojan in the UK.
We have three different pressings available: Clocktower Records, Antarctica Starts Here (both North-America) and Music On Vinyl (Europe). We will try to have all three in stock but we also depend on 
deliveries from distributors.
Format & package: LP
Record label: 
Clocktower Records / Antarctica Starts Here / Music On Vinyl
Year of release: 2019 / 2020 /2021 (reissued from 1968)

A1 Standing In
A2 Just A Mirage
A3 Gipsy Woman
A4 My Conversation
A5 You'll Lose A Precious Love
A6 That's The Way Love Is
B1 Freedom Song
B2 Run Come
B3 Out Of Love
B4 Watch This Sound
B5 Speak No Evil
B6 A Yuh

Specification Description
Weight 0,3 Kg
© 2014 - 2022 AGGROSHOP.COM | sitemap | rss | ecommerce software - powered by MyOnlineStore