Lee Perry & Friends - Black Art From The Black Ark DOUBLE LP

Item 1 of 43 Volgende
€ 30,90
This item is sold out.

UK import!
A quick internet search brings up some extraordinary footage of Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry producing a session at the Black Ark. Taken from the film ‘Roots, Rock, Reggae’, directed by Jeremy Marre, the sequence shows Junior Murvin collaborating with members of the Congos and the Heptones on a song improvised on the spot for the film crew. Before the vocals are recorded, the Upsetters lay down the backing track. The musical director of the session is the afro-haired bass player, Boris Gardiner; unusually, it is he who counts in the band to start each take. After a long conversation with Boris a few years back, I asked Lee about his contribution to the Black Ark sound.
Unusually, Lee decided to do everything himself, both producing and engineering. The film clip shows Lee fully relaxed as he simultaneously directs the musicians and adjusts his recording machines.
Format & package: Double LP, 2nd pressing (blue font)
Record label: Pressure Sounds
Year of release: 2021
A1 Junior Murvin - Roots Train (Previously Unreleased Dubplate Mix)
A2 Jimmy Riley - Woman Gotta Have Love (Previously Unreleased Dubplate Mix)
A3 The Upsetters - Set Up Yourself     
A4 Henrick Nicholson - Brotherly Love (12" Mix)     
B1 Junior Murvin - Let's Fall In Love     
B2 Eric Donaldson - Say A Little Prayer     
B3 Jimmy Riley - I Never Had It So Good     
B4 Junior Murvin - Mister Craven     
C1 Lord Creator - Such Is Life (12" Mix)     
C2 The Upsetters - Such Is Life Version     
C3 Danny Clarke - Nuh Fi Run it Down     
C4 The Upsetters - Nuh Fi Run It Down Version     
D1 Lee Perry - What A Sin (Extended Mix)     
D2 Bobby Ellis - Ska Baby     
D3 The Upsetters - Ska Version     
D4 The Upsetters - Beard man Shuffle (Extended Mix)

Specification Description
Weight 0,4 Kg
© 2014 - 2023 AGGROSHOP.COM | sitemap | rss | ecommerce software - powered by MyOnlineStore