Various - Studio One Women: Volume Two DOUBLE LP

Vorige Item 23 of 63 Volgende
€ 35,90 (including VAT)

UK import!
Brand new selection of rare and classic releases made at Studio One by reggae's leading women! Featuring legendary artists such as Marcia Griffiths, Rita Marley and Hortense Ellis (with a guest appearance by her brother Alton), alongside a host of rarities from lesser known names such as Nina Soul, Nana Mclean, Denise Darlington, Myrna Hague and also Doreen Schaeffer - vocalist and founding member of The Skatalites!
Featured here are some notable cover versions - from Tyrone Davis’ soul classic 'Can I Change My Mind' to the Byrds' 60s psychedelic anthemic 'Turn Turn Turn' in a rub-a-dub style!. Doreen Schaeffer versions Alton Ellis’s seminal 'I’m Still in Love with You', Nina Soul versions the slack rocksteady anthem 'Barb Wire'.
Many of these tracks are almost impossible to find and many have never been issued ever since their initial release. The music on the album is - of course - 100% killer and features backing from all of the seminal groups at 13 Brentford Road including The Skatalites, Sound Dimension, Soul Brothers and the Brentford All Stars, and ranges from ska, rocksteady, roots, lovers and more from the 60s, 70s and 80s.
All produced by Clement ‘Sir Coxsone’ Dodd at Studio One Records, the number one sound in reggae music. The album is released on Soul Jazz Records as a double-vinyl with gatefold sleeve, download code, the CD comes in slipcase and both come with extensive sleevenotes.
Format & package: Double LP in gatefold sleeve
Record label: Soul Jazz Records
Year of release: 2022 (compilation)
A1. Hortense Ellis – Can I Change My Mind
A2. Marcia Griffiths – Melody Life
A3. Myrna Hague – New World
A4. Marcia Griffiths – Shimmering Star
A5. Nora Dean – Heartaches
B1. The Jay Tees – Buck Town Corner
B2. Jennifer Lara – Turn, Turn, Turn !
B3. Doreen & Alton – I'm Still In Love
B4. Doreen Schaeffer – Sugar Sugar
C1. Denise Darlington – Feel So Good
C2. Angela Prince – My Man Is Gone
C3. Nana McLean – Till I Kissed You
C4. Nina Soul – Barb Wire
C5. Jackie Opel and Doreen Schaeffer – Welcome You Back Home
D1. Nina Soul – Sleeping Trees
D2. Rita Marley – Friends and Lovers
D3. Hortense Ellis – Secretly
D4. Marcia Griffiths – You're No Good

Specification Description
Weight 0,5 Kg
© 2014 - 2022 AGGROSHOP.COM | sitemap | rss | ecommerce software - powered by MyOnlineStore