Various - Rude Boy Scorchers LP

Item 296 of 649
€ 16,90 (including VAT)

UK import!

The Rude Boy moniker has its roots firmly set in the downtown districts of Kingston, Jamaica. Alongside the regular Ska/ Rocksteady sounds coming out of the sound systems, there was an undercurrent theme to some songs that spoke of the struggles of the youth, of their confrontation, arrests and run-ins with the establishment. Some of these songs praised the Rude Boys for their stance and style while other songs were more in contempt with the rude boy’s attitudes, comings, goings and violent behaviour.
Some of the runnings that did not help their standing with their elders’ was that not only did they get employed by sound system operators to help keep their dance safe but also to disrupt competitors dances, a job that also gave them the name dancehall crasher. Where music leads fashion is never far behind and the rude boys were no exception. The look favoured, sharp suits, thin ties, pork pie or Trilby hats and stylish shoes. The British not only took on the music, but also the look of the rude boy as the styles moved between the Mod look and also the American jazz and soul influences of the time. This 60’s style made a comeback in the United Kingdom with the Mod / Two Tone revival. Bands like The Specials showed their love of the Jamaican music, which heavily influenced their first album even seeing them covering some of the Jamaican classics like ‘Monkey Man’ and ‘A Message To You Rudy’.
For this release we have put together a set of tunes that the Jamaican rude boys would have been listening to at the sound systems on the lawns and street corners. Not only the more obvious rude boy tunes like ‘Gunmen Coming To Town’, ‘Dreader than Dread’, `Moon Hop’ but also some of the tunes that made the sound systems rock well into the night.
Format & package: LP
Record label: Kingston Sounds
Year of release: 2017 (compilation)
A1 Derrick Morgan - Fat Man
A2 Lloydie & The Lovebites - Wine And Grine
A3 Phyllis Dillon - Love Is All I Have
A4 Delroy Wilson - Put Yourself In My Place
A5 Rico Rodriguez - Rainbow Into The Rio Mino
A6 Derrick Morgan - I Love You
A7 Honey Boy Martin - Dreader Than Dread
B1 The Heptones - Gunmen Coming To Town
B2 Justin Hinds - Rub Up, Push Up
B3 Lester Sterling - Soul Voyage
B4 Derrick Morgan - Moon Hop
B5 John Holt - Fat Girl, Sexy Girl
B6 The Ethiopians - Reggae Hit The Town
B7 Pat Kelly - How Long

Specification Description
Weight 0,4 Kg
© 2014 - 2024 AGGROSHOP.COM | sitemap | rss | ecommerce software - powered by MyOnlineStore