Various - Studio One Rocksteady Volume 2 DOUBLE LP

Vorige Item 312 of 1280 Volgende
€ 35,90 (including VAT)

UK import! 

Soul Jazz Records’ new journey into the mighty vaults of Clement Dodd’s Studio One steps once more into the fertile musical environment of Jamaican music in the late 1960s and early 1970s, from the sweet harmony vocals of seminal 1960s Rocksteady right up to the nascent birth of Reggae and Roots music at the start of the 1970s. Sleevenotes to this album are by Steve Barrow, author of ‘Rough Guide to Reggae’ as well as Soul Jazz Records’ own ‘Reggae Soundsystem Cover Art’ books.
While Ska at the start of the 1960s had taken American rhythm and blues as its main influence, Rocksteady focused on the emergence of American Soul music – with Jamaican vocal harmony groups such as The Gaylads, John Holt & The Paragons, Carlton & The Shoes showing a particular fascination with the close harmonies of Curtis Mayfield and The Impressions and other US soul acts. Here The Heptones even feature with a cover of Bob Dylan’s ‘I Shall Be Released’. The influence of Soul music on Jamaican rock steady and reggae is almost palpable, so much so that one wonders how much more successful singers like Delroy Wilson, Alton Ellis, Slim Smith and John Holt would have been had they been born in Chicago, Detroit or Memphis.
Artists such as Alton Ellis, Delroy Wilson and Owen Gray defined the era – a slowed down beat as Jamaican political and social heat slowly increased as the 1960s progressed into the start of the 1970s –  and the music evolved further from rock steady into roots reggae.
Format & package: Double LP
Record label: Soul Jazz Records
Year of release: 2018 (compilation)
A1 Hortense Ellis - Sitting In The Park
A2 The Termites - Rub Up Push Up
A3 Carlton & The Shoes - Never Let Go
A4 Alton Ellis - I'm Still In Love With You
A5 Owen Gray - Give Me A Little Sign
B1 The Bassies - Big Mistake
B2 Alton & Hortense Ellis - Breaking Up Is Hard To Do
B3 Slim Smith - Born To Love
B4 King Cannon & The Soul Vendors - Bad Treatment
B5 John Holt - Strange Things
C1 The Actions - Giddy Up
C2 Larry Marshall - It Makes Me Feel
C3 The Paragons - Change Your Style
C4 Jerry Jones - Trying Times
D1 The Heptones - I Shall Be Released
D2 The Gaylads - The Soul Beat
D3 Delroy Wilson - Run Run
D4 The Soul Two - Puppy Love
D5 Delroy Wilson - Riding For A Fall

Specification Description
Weight 0,8 Kg
© 2014 - 2023 AGGROSHOP.COM | sitemap | rss | ecommerce software - powered by MyOnlineStore