Arthur Kay & The Clerks - The Night I Came Home LP

Item 202 of 677
€ 20,90 (including VAT)

It was in a youth club stage that myself and a band of young tab-collared Mods called The Shapes played our first gig on a cold February Tuesday night in 1966. 50 years on, thanks to The Clerks I have made the album up until now I could only ever dream of making. A fusion of Ska, East coast Soul, a touch of gospel and the influence of the London street songs I grew up with. The night I came home. So this is how London legend Arthur Kay finally came home with the help of a young Ska band from Cologne.
On the album, we find Arthur paying tribute to his great idol Dion ("The Wanderer") with "The Last of the One-Named Singers" as well as a cover version of Dions "Born To Cry". "The Count Of Clerkenwell" is another of Arthurs underground classics receiving a facelift here. But most of the songs are new compositions though, their lyrics reflecting Arthurs eventful life.
The Clerks are much more than simply his backing band. Arthur requested the band to include two of bandleader Geros compositions. They weave seamlessly into the album, which closes with a new version of Arthurs classic "Mardi Gras on a Saturday Night" recorded live at Freedom Sounds Festival as a bonus track.
Format & package: LP + CD version
Record label: Grover
Year of release: 2016
A1 The Last Of The One Named Singers
A2 The Night I Came Home
A3 (I Was) Born To Cry
A4 Wideboys And Cowboys
A5 Reggae’n’Ska
A6 Sunlight Of The Spirit
B1 The Count Of Clerkenwell
B2 It's the Hatton Garden Job
B3 The Last Of The Summer Ska
B4 Don't Give A Dam
B5 Trying To Make A Living
B6 Mardi Gras On A Saturday Night (live at Freedom Sounds)

Specification Description
Weight 0,4 Kg
© 2014 - 2024 AGGROSHOP.COM | sitemap | rss | ecommerce software - powered by MyOnlineStore