Various ‎- When Jah Shall Come DOUBLE LP

Item 1 of 649
€ 32,90
This item is sold out.

Description: UK import!
Bunny Lee recorded a massive volume of remarkably consistent music in the 70s. This compilation brings together rare and unreleased cuts that put the listener bang in the middle of a typical recording session, complete with false starts and studio banter.
Linval Thompson is represented by two unreleased tunes, and is also heard in the runup to 'Tommy's Vibration'. Once the 'flying cymbal' sound had taken off, Bunny often recorded a 'flyers' and a straight version of the same rhythm: 'Tommy's Vibration' is a classic but little known Tommy McCook instrumental on the flyers cut of Linval's 'Jah Jah A The Conqueror'. 'Ethiopian Rock' is a total scorcher, the only recorded tune by the deejay Jah Smile, before Bunny persuaded him to turn to singing and changed his name to Barry Brown.
In a healthy spirit of competition, Bunny often tried out different singers on tunes that he thought would hit, hence Ronnie Davis's soulful take on Johnny Clarke's 'Every Knee Shall Bow', Johnny's version of Horace Andy's 'Better Collie', and Johnny and Horace sharing vocals on 'No Man Is An Island', all unreleased until now. 'No Babylon Shall Escape In This Time' has Johnny Clarke and 'Bongo' Herman Davis recorded over the original version side of Johnny's 'None Shall Escape The Judgement'. 'Life Of My Own' is a beautifully constructed lament by a singer who neither Bunny nor various expert ears have managed to identify: at Bunny's suggestion he is credited as 'The Raver'. 'War Zone' and 'Keep On Running' are examples of Tubby's mixes that have had further effects dubbed on elsewhere; sound systems and foreign record labels occasionally did this to manufacture their own specials from existing mixes. 'Jamaican Fruit Of African Roots' has recently been the subject of the fascinating documentary 'Shella Record: A Reggae Mystery'; the Lennox Brown cut here has only just been discovered. Also included are two stinging dubplates by Cornell Campbell: the first is aimed straight to the head of Arrows sound system, while the second, recorded in the early 80s, sums up the vital partnership of two of Jamaica's musical giants.
Format & package: Double LP
Record label: Pressure Sounds
Year of release: 2020 (compilation)
A1 Tommy McCook - Tommy's Vibes     
A2 Johnny Clarke - No Babylon Shall Escape In This Time     
A3 Jah Smile - Ethiopian Rock     
A4 Lennox Brown & Sheila Rickards - Jamaican Fruit Of African Roots     
A5 Ronnie Davis - Every Knee Shall Bow     
B1 Cornell Campbell - King Tubby's vs Arrows Dubplate     
B2 Al Campbell - One Room Shack     
B3 John Forbes - War Zone     
B4 Linval Thompson - Look How Long Nyabinghi Calling You     
B5 Tinga Stewart - Can't Be A Hypocrite     
C1 The Aggrovators - Bell Road Rock     
C2 Cornell Campbell - Keep On Running     
C3 U-Roy - The Right To Live     
C4 Al Campbell - Wicked A Go Feel It     
C5 Tommy McCook - Joe Frazier     
D1 Johnny Clarke & Horace Andy - No Man Is An Island     
D2 Linval Thompson - Go Jah Jah Pickney     
D3 Johnny Clarke - Better Collie     
D4 Bobby Ellis & Val Bennett - The Arabian Sound Of Reggae     
D5 Cornell Campbell - Bunny Lee & King Tubby's Dubplate Special

Specification Description
Weight 0,4 Kg
© 2014 - 2024 AGGROSHOP.COM | sitemap | rss | ecommerce software - powered by MyOnlineStore